Two love poems for the New Year, one stroppy, one beckoning

Dear Readers,

Once again, I am putting up some of my own poetry to be read, hoping that you will find something you like in it.  These are recent compositions, and still untested in that sense, so please give them your best (though most honest) consideration.

Hoist from Where?

I am not your tinker toy
I am not your doll
Far less am I your device
Or your backstage moll.

Don’t call me your parachute
Or your safety switch
I am not a thing at all
You can’t find my niche.

A god alone knows where I go
Though you won’t agree
You like to think you know my mind
And motives, clear to see.

But I have gears and brakes and cogs
Made in no factory
They don’t go round by your say-so
Nor are they run by me.

I fleetingly have sight of them
When in my soul I peer,
You cannot get the best of them
Whose origins aren’t here.

What e’er there is has made them true,
At least true to my fit
And it’s not you, my precious dear
Who has account of it.

What I can’t make, I can’t betray
Nor cede the right to you
So well are heaven’s plans laid out
With wisdom so endued.

And I will let you fool yourself
And play you have fool’d me,
And as for any consequence,
My dear, let’s wait and see.

©Victoria Leigh Bennett, 1/6/17

(That was the stroppy one–to use a British expression that seems to mean something like “irritable” or “forceful”–and now here is the beckoning, loving one:)

Poem III

Dark hair
Like a cloud of fire’s blackest embers
Warm hands
With a formal touch fond thought remembers
Eyes’ deepness in their brown orbits
Grave or smiling
Long leanness
Shoulders’ curve
Night’s dreams profiling.
Take a guess,
Play a hunch,
Declare a stance, to fetch the notion
Lessons learned
Battles fought
Passage won
Make his wide ocean.
Water fears, all his tears
Now he practices devotion,
Come to me,
Pharisee,
Let me try to fetch you places
Toward safe havens
Blessed with sanctuary
And endowed with graces.
At the least, I can promise love and faith abiding,
You can put an end at last to the lying and the hiding.

©Victoria Leigh Bennett, 1/6/17

That’s all for now!  I hope you’ve enjoyed my self-indulgence as much as I have derived some benefit from sharing it.

5 Comments

Filed under Full of literary ambitions!, Literary puzzles and arguments, What is literature for?

5 responses to “Two love poems for the New Year, one stroppy, one beckoning

  1. I love the mix between these two poems, a braver man than I may even say that this is generally a glimpse into the mood of a woman in any given half an hour…I, of course am not that man.

    There were some wonderful changes in this post, stroppy is a good word and I really enjoy how it mixes the emotional with the philosophical. There is a real feel of both thought processes since our present consciousness evolved. I love it.

    Then the change in tone which, for a moment disguised those feeling, of mystery and passion but is the other side of the same coin. Warm hands are always important too!

    • Thanks for the generous response; I did the angrier one first, then felt that it wasn’t quite fair to put only it up, as (just as you remark) it was only one side of the coin. We can’t quite do without the Janus-face in love relationships, can we? I appreciate your remarks, as always.

      • A lazier blogger would have held on to the second poem and posted it the next day purely to make my posting numbers look better, not that I am referring to myself or anything…

  2. The first poem is interesting in the speaker’s initial assertion of self before moving towards their destiny being controlled by a higher power. A subtle barb at the speaker’s target for their arrogant God complex? The term pharisee would seem appropriate =)

    The second points to taking back a previous partner who had departed to wander the world, returning when they realized that they had walked away from a situation better than they recognized at the time. The speaker is a strong person to forgive the subject… or is strong the right word?

    Enjoyable poems that make you think =)

  3. Dear DJ, Actually, as I told a friend of mine who didn’t actually see the first poem, I think of it as being like a pissed-off Emily Dickinson in attitude, a thing I don’t think she ever actually was. But the appeal to a higher power is her sort of thing. The second poem is sheer love directed toward another person. The term “Pharisee” here is not so much a reference to the Christian tradition of the Pharisees being responsible for Christ’s fate as it is from the Judaic tradition: A Sadduccee was supposed to be a sort of elitist, and as opposed to that, the Pharisees were more in with the populace. The few ending lines are an appeal to blend the two forces. Not entirely obvious, I guess, but that’s what I intended.

Leave a Reply

